Be Strong in the Lord…

A glimpse into my every day life

Summer Adventures May 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — wordsiwouldsay @ 11:25 am

This summer is going to be FILLED with adventures. And I truly cannot wait. Here are the things I am looking forward to:

#1: My last day of school! Friday, June 10th can’t come soon enough. I love teaching and love Jubilee, but I am more ready for summer than I ever have been before.

#2: Only working 3 days a week this summer. I start my 9th summer at Summer Fun on Monday, June 13th, but after teaching all year and working all summer in 2010, I was mentally and physically exhausted when it came time for school to start again this year. I knew there was no way I could do that again, so I cut back on my schedule for the summer. I am looking forward to having the days off to relax.

#3: Pampered Chef. I am going to be a PC consultant starting this summer! I think this will be a great way to make some extra cash and have fun while doing it. The thing I love most is that I can work around my schedule, and I get to bake yummy food!

#4: Ben’s last semester of classes. He currently has only 6 or 7 weeks left of classes, then some finals, and he is DONE with classes at Slippery Rock! Next fall and spring he will be doing some clinicals, but no more late night studying or paper writing! His white coat ceremony is at the beginning of July as well. I am so proud of him!

#5: July 20th. This is my sister’s due date for my niece! I LOVE love LOVE being an aunt to Addison and can’t wait until I have a 2nd niece to play with and spoil!

#6: Rehoboth Beach. While my family will not be going to Rehoboth this summer because of my future niece, we booked a trip with Mallory and Adam for the end of July. We found a cute little condo a few blocks from the beach and Rehoboth Ave, and I couldn’t be more excited! This will really be our first long trip with friends, and we are really looking forward to it. It’s especially fun since Mallory and I both have memories of Rehoboth from our childhood, so we can share in those memories together šŸ™‚

#7: The Big Apple. After returning from Rehoboth, Ben and Adam will be off to the Adirondacks for a week-long camping trip. So what were Mallory and I to do? Book a trip to NYC, of course! We got tickets through Megabus for $1 each way, and plan to stay with her cousin in Manhattan. This means we pay for food…hopefully a Broadway show…shopping….and that’s about it! We’re not so sure how this whole Megabus thing is going to go, but we couldn’t pass up such a great deal. I have read numerous review about Megabus, and while many are negative for late buses or too much A/C or no working wifi or outlets, these things aren’t on the top of our importance list, so I think we’ll be just fine.

#8: My birthday. The weekend after NYC, Ben, Mallory, and I will be traveling via Megabus to Harrisburg where Adam will pick us up and we will head to Purple Door, a huge Christian music festival. While it’s not really my kind of music, I am excited to spend my birthday weekend with friends šŸ™‚ Hopefully Mallory and I have a positive bus experience the week before, so we won’t be dreading this one!

#9: Spending time with friends. We have so many wonderful friends, both old and new, and I can’t wait to have time to spend with all of them! Hopefully we will take some trips to McConnell’s Mill, Moraine State Park, Pirate’s games, Kennywood, and other places around Pittsburgh, bust most of all I just look forward to the fellowship and fun times šŸ™‚

#10: Enjoying the life that God has blessed me with. I am so thankful for all that God has given to me and desire to serve Him in all that I do. I pray that I can be a light to others throughout all of my summer adventures!

What kinds of adventures are you having this summer??

 

Leave a comment